Upcoming result publication season looks promising

22nd January 2018
-News, IAM

Jean-Louis Richard, Senior Financial Analyst

The season of the annual results publication starts really this week. During the last days however, a handful of Swiss companies have offered a taste of what is to come, by publishing their revenues of the fourth quarter. In general growth accelerated and the trend looks promising for the beginning of 2018.

The sanitary producer Geberit showed a rather disappointing organic growth of +3.3% over nine months; the situation has improved during the fourth quarter with a rhythm of +5.3%. The speciality chemical company Sika published an impressive progression of its sales of +8.5% during the last quarter, compared to 5.5% during the first 9 months. Furthermore the company considers an expansion of its sales “of more than 10%” for the full 2018. This last number includes acquisitions.

The semi-conductor specialist Inficon has posted a growth of 18% (in dollars) during the fourth quarter, bringing sales to 373 million. The company had raised its forecast to 340 million in June and to 360 million in October. Richemont posted, at constant exchange rate, a better progression than expected of its sales, of 7% for the period October to December. This is less than the 10% achieved during 9 months. But, in the strategic segments of watches, growth of sales to final customers seems to have exceeded 10%, which supports the recovery scenario in the watch industry.

Loading...

La saison des résultats semble prometteuse

22 janvier 18
-IAM, News

Jean-Louis Richard, Senior Financial Analyst

La saison des résultats annuels démarre vraiment cette semaine. Ces derniers jours, toutefois, une poignée d’entreprises suisses en ont livré un avant-goût en publiant leurs chiffres d’affaires pour le quatrième trimestre. En général, la croissance a accéléré et la tendance s’annonce bonne pour le début de 2018.

Par exemple, le fabricant de sanitaires Geberit affichait une progression organique plutôt décevante de +3.3% sur neuf mois; la situation s’est améliorée au quatrième trimestre avec un rythme de +5.3%. L’entreprise de spécialités chimiques Sika a publié une progression impressionnante de ses ventes de +8.5% lors du dernier trimestre, contre 5.5% au cours des neuf premiers mois. En outre, l’entreprise envisage une expansion de «plus de 10%» de ses ventes sur l’ensemble de l’année 2018. Ce dernier chiffre inclut les acquisitions.

Chez le spécialiste des semi-conducteurs Inficon, la croissance a atteint 18% (en dollars) au quatrième trimestre, portant les ventes annuelles à 373 millions; la société avait relevé ses prévisions à 340 millions en juin, puis à 360 millions en octobre. De son côté, Richemont a révélé une progression meilleure que prévu de 7% de ses ventes, à taux de change constants, pour la période d’octobre à décembre. C’est plus lent que les 10% enregistrés sur neuf mois. Mais dans le segment stratégique des montres, la croissance des ventes auprès des clients finaux aurait dépassé la barre des 10%; chiffre qui étaye le scénario de reprise dans le secteur de l’horlogerie.

Loading...