2nd quarter results in line

11th August 2017
-News, IAM

Daniel Pfund, Senior Financial Analyst, Fund Manager

Most European companies have published their semi-annual results. We are coming to the end of the “results season”. Let’s keep in mind that in Europe, companies do not have to publish quarterly results like in the US. It is therefore even more important to analyse the semi-annual results.

The game for companies is to manage the expectation of sell-side analysts and investors. The aim is to beat these expectations, commonly called consensus. Nevertheless it is not set in stone that a company, who publishes better results than expected, sees its share price rise. Indeed there are other parameters which will impact the price, among which the way the company “guides” the expectations for the next quarter/half year.

During the second quarter, 8% more companies published better results than companies which disappointed (companies in line with expectations are not considered). These figures are in line with the historical mean, but far below the record of 29% of the first quarter.

Loading...

Résultats du deuxième trimestre en ligne

11 Aout 2017
-News, IAM

Daniel Pfund, Senior Financial Analyst, Fund Manager

Les sociétés européennes ont pour la plupart publiées leurs résultats semi-annuels. Nous touchons à la fin de la «saison des résultats». Rappelons qu’en Europe, les sociétés ne sont pas obligées de publier des résultats trimestriels comme aux Etats-Unis. Il est donc d’autant plus important d’analyser les résultats semi-annuels.

Le jeu des sociétés est de gérer les attentes des analystes sell-side et des investisseurs. Le but des sociétés étant de battre ces attentes, communément appelées, consensus. Toutefois, il n’est pas garanti que si une société publie de meilleurs résultats qu’attendus, son action monte en bourse. En effet, il y a d’autres paramètres qui vont influencer son cours, notamment la manière dont la société va «guider» les attentes du prochain trimestre/semestre.

Au deuxième trimestre, il y a eu 8% de sociétés de plus qui ont publiées de meilleurs résultats que celles qui ont publiées de moins bons résultats (on ne compte pas celles qui ont publiées en ligne avec les attentes). Ce chiffre est en ligne avec la moyenne historique, mais bien en dessous du record de 29% au premier trimestre.

Loading...