Amazon places a mega bond deal

21st August 2017
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Last week Amazon raised USD 16 billion to finance its acquisition of Whole Foods Market, an organic food super market chain. This bond issue was structured in seven tranches of different maturities, varying from 3 years up to 40 (!) years. Over 75% of it have a maturity of at least 10 years, over 50% 20 years and more.

Interest of investors was huge, as the issue was 3 times oversubscribed. The 10 year bond offers a yield of 3.1%, trading only 0.9% over the comparable treasury. Looking at the longest maturity, the 40 year bond yields 4.3%, 1.45% over its treasury equivalent.

Amazon is not the only company taking advantage of current low interest environment. Amazon is the 4th largest high-grade investment deal since the beginning of the year, with AT&T (USD 22.5 billion), BAT (USD 17.25 billion) and Microsoft (17 billion) building so far the top three of this year’s league table.

Loading...

Amazon réalise une méga émission de dette

21 aout 2017
-IAM, News

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

La semaine dernière Amazon a levé 16 milliards de USD pour financer l’acquisition de Whole Foods Market, une chaîne de supermarché. Cette émission était structurée en sept tranches de maturités différentes, variant de 3 à 40(!) ans. Plus de 75% avaient une maturité d’au moins 10 ans, et plus de 50% de 20 ans et plus.

L’intérêt des investisseurs était immense, vu que l’émission était souscrite 3 fois. L’obligation 10 ans offre un rendement de 3.1%, juste 0.9% au-dessus de l’emprunt du trésor US avec une maturité équivalente. En regardant les maturités plus longues, l’obligation à 40 ans a un rendement de 4.3%, 1.45% de plus qu’une obligation d’état US similaire.

Amazon n’est pas la seule société qui profite de l’environnement de taux faible. Depuis le début de l’année, l’opération d’Amazon est la 4e plus grande dans le segment «investment grade», c’est-à-dire le segment des obligations de meilleure qualité. AT&T (USD 22.5 milliards), BAT (USD 17.25 milliards) et Microsoft (17 milliards) sont actuellement le trio de tête.

Loading...