Roche is in purgatory

7th May 2018
-News, IAM

Jean-Louis Richard, Senior Financial Analyst

On April 26th, Roche published better than expected sales revenues and has increased its forecasts for the full year. In such circumstances the share price generally rises. This was this time not the case: the share (or more precisely the participation certificate, without voting rights) of Roche remained flat in a well oriented market.

This reaction shows the mistrust around the company from Basel. Its stock exchange price is at the same level as in March 2013. In these 5 years, the results have only progressed slightly, as sales and earnings (EBITDA) have only grown by 15% and 8%. This is part of the explanation: Roche reaches the end of an extraordinary growth period, which started in the years 2000 thanks to the three anti-cancer treatments (Avastin, Rituxan, and Herceptin) of its American subsidiary Genentech. It is not sure that the new generation of products will allow the group to defend its positions. But the mistrust goes further than this uncertainty.

The management of Roche indeed assures that earnings will continue to grow, investors simply refuse to listen. First, because nobody, including the management, can predict success or failure of medications in development; then the market has already been disappointed by too much optimism of Roche. Last year the company announced the success in a new breast cancer treatment (combination of Herceptin, Perjeta and chemotherapy) before having 6 months later to concede that the progress of this new treatment was only moderate…

Roche therefore finds itself in purgatory. Promises are not enough any longer to revive the share price, the market waits for concreate results before giving credit back to the company.

Loading...

Roche im Fegefeuer.

07. May 2018
-News, IAM

Jean-Louis Richard, Senior Financial Analyst

Am 26. April hat Roche besser als erwartete Zahlen veröffentlicht und seine Prognosen für das gesamte Jahr nach oben revidiert. In diesen Fällen springt der Aktienkurs gewöhnlich nach oben, doch diesmal war dies nicht der Fall: Die Aktie (oder genauer gesagt, der Genussschein, Titel ohne Stimmrechte) von Roche verharrte auf der Stelle, in einem gut orientierten Markt.

Diese Reaktion zeigt das Misstrauen gegenüber der Gruppe aus Basel. Ihr Aktienkurs ist auf dem gleichen Niveau wie März 2013. Die Resultate haben sich nur leicht verbessert, da die Verkäufe und Gewinne (EBITDA) nur um jeweils 15% und 8% gestiegen sind. Dies ist ein Anfang an Erklärung: Roche kommt zum Ende der ausserordentlichen Wachstumsphase, welche Anfang der 2000er Jahre, dank der Antikrebsmittel (Avastin, Rituxan, Herceptin), seiner amerikanischen Filiale Genentech, begonnen hat. Es ist unsicher, ob die neue Generation Produkte der Gruppe ermöglicht, ihre Position zu verteidigen. Aber das Misstrauen sitzt tiefer.

Auch wenn die Leitung von Roche versichert, dass die Gewinne weiter steigen werden, hinhören wollen die Anleger nicht. Erstens kann keiner, auch die Leitung nicht, vorhersagen, ob sich die in Entwicklung befindenden Therapien positiv oder negativ ausfallen werden; ausserdem wurde der Markt schon wegen zu viel Optimismus von Roche enttäuscht. Letztes Jahr hatte das Unternehmen den Erfolg einer Therapie gegen Brustkrebs (Kombination von Herceptin, Perjeta und Chimiotherapie) angekündigt, bevor es 6 Monate später zugeben musste, dass die Fortschritte dieser neuen Verwendung doch bescheiden sind…

Roche befindet sich somit im Fegefeuer. Versprechungen reichen nicht mehr, um den Kurs wieder aufleben zu lassen, der Markt erwartet konkrete Ergebnisse, damit das Unternehmen wieder als glaubwürdig betrachtet wird.

Loading...