Johann Tschopp «A great line up for Sarthe»

07 April 2014

IAM Cycling

For Johann Tschopp, the prospect of racing the Tour of Romandie motivates him.  He knows he needs to regain his health and condition after a little setback in the week leading up to the Critérium International.

GAR_2941 copie

“I had good sensations at the Coppa Stresa, but when I returned home to my family, I fell ill.  I found myself in bed with stomach flu, which made me lose a lot of minerals.  Racing in Corsica, I was a long way from having recovered all my strength.  I still managed to give the team a helping hand to the base of the last climb.  Then I just put myself into survival mode to finish.  Fortunately, I had a good foundation.  Last week during training, I was pleased to see my form come back little by little.”  


At the Circuit Cycliste Sarthe-Pays de Loire, the IAM Cycling rider from the Valais region in Switzerland will hope to find the condition necessary to prepare him for the Tour of Romandie.

“I don’t know this race, but we have a great team for Sarthe with Mathias Frank, Stefan Denifl and Thomas Löfkvist.  I will work for the team to get back into the rhythm and test myself in ideal conditions.  Then I will know what I have to do to finish my preparation for Romandie, which is my first big goal of the season.  Since I will not be racing in the Ardennes (Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège), I will have 15 days in which to focus and prepare myself.”


photos – Etienne Garnier @ VeloFotoPro


Circuit cycliste Sarthe – Pays de Loire (mardi 8 avril – vendredi 11 avril)

More about the race

Twitter  @circuitcycliste

Stage 1: Saint-Jean-de-Monts – Saint-Géréon (197,2 km)

Stage 2: Ancenis – Angers (88,3 km)

Stage 3: Angers-Angers  (clm de 6,8 km)

Stage 4: Angers – Pré-en-Pail (196,2 km)

Stage 5: Abbaye de L’Epau – La Ferté-Bernard (184,8 km)

Directeur Sportif  Rubens BertogliatiKjell Carlström



The Line Up

IAM_Cycling_Stefan_Denifl_b IAM_Cycling_Mathias_Frank_b IAM_Cycling_Reto_Hollenstein_b IAM_Cycling_Gustav_Larsson_b IAM_Cycling_Thomas_Lofkvist_b IAM_Cycling_Johann_Tschopp_b