What about the risk in the bond market?

30th October 2018
-News, IAM

Alberto Alvarez, Sernior Trading Officer

Ten years after the bankruptcy of Lehman Brothers, which occurred on September 15, 2008, many are wondering about the possibility of another major crisis.

While banks now have a more favourable financial situation than in the past, thanks in particular to the numerous measures taken to improve their balance sheets and strengthen their capitalisation, this is not the case for many companies. They have been heavily indebted in recent years and general level of indebtedness is worrying and could be a trigger for a new generalised crisis. The reason why the level of debt of companies found on the financial markets is currently at its highest, is because they benefit, among others, from an environment of extremely low and favourable interest rates – environment, which persists for some years already. Investors, on the other hand, have been less risk-averse in recent years and have not hesitated to invest more in lower-quality assets, looking for returns and aiming to gain a few additional base points. Thus, and with a gradual rise in interest rates, already noted in the United States, we are entitled to worry about the accumulation of debt of certain companies.

The following table shows the evolution over the last ten years of the “Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Corporate Bond Index”, which covers corporate issues:

The increase in the volume of debt is impressive and much larger in the US than in Europe. Indeed, the debt is multiplied by almost 2.5 in the US and 1.5 times in Europe. At the same time the duration has increased in both regions. Debt quality has also fallen sharply, with the doubling of the proportion of low quality issuers (BBBs) in the index.

These statistics reflect a riskier environment, and in recent months credit spreads have been rising again after two years of bearish momentum. Is this the beginning of a trend reversal and a confirmed riskier environment? Let’s keep an eye on the evolution…

Loading...

Quid du risque sur le marché obligataire?

30 octobre 18
-IAM, News

Alberto Alvarez, Senior Trading Officer

Dix ans après la faillite de Lehman Brothers, survenue le 15 septembre 2008, nombreux sont ceux qui s’interrogent sur la possibilité d’une nouvelle crise d’envergure.

Si les banques bénéficient aujourd’hui, globalement, d’une situation financière plus favorable que par le passé, notamment grâce aux nombreuses mesures prises pour assainir leur bilan et renforcer leur capitalisation, il n’en va pas de même pour de nombreuses sociétés qui se sont fortement endettées ces dernières années. Leur niveau d’endettement est inquiétant et pourrait se révéler comme un élément déclencheur d’une nouvelle crise généralisée. En effet, si actuellement le niveau d’endettement des entreprises constaté sur les marchés financiers est au plus haut, c’est qu’elles profitent, entre autres, d’un environnement de taux extrêmement bas et favorable qui perdure depuis quelques années déjà. Les investisseurs, de leur côté, ont été moins averses au risque ces dernières années et n’ont pas hésité à investir davantage dans des actifs de moindre qualité, à la recherche de rendements et afin de bénéficier de quelques points de base supplémentaires. Ainsi, et avec une hausse progressive des taux d’intérêt déjà constatée aux Etats-Unis, on est en droit de s’inquiéter de l’accumulation des dettes de certaines sociétés.

Le tableau suivant nous montre l’évolution sur les dix dernières années de l’indice obligataire «Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Corporate», regroupant les émissions de sociétés:

L’augmentation du volume de la dette est impressionnant et bien plus important aux US qu’en Europe. En effet, la dette s’est multipliée par presque 2.5 aux US et 1.5 fois en Europe. En même temps, la duration a augmenté dans les deux régions. La qualité de la dette a aussi fortement diminué avec le doublement de la proportion d’émetteurs de basse qualité (BBB) dans l’indice.

Ces statistiques reflètent un environnement plus risqué, et d’ailleurs depuis quelques mois, les «spreads» de crédit sont repartis à la hausse après deux années de dynamique baissière. Serait-ce là le début d’une inversion de tendance et la confirmation d’un environnement plus risqué? Affaire à suivre…

Loading...