Sparkling outlook for the luxury industry

28th March 2018
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Basel World, the annual internationally trade show for watch and jewellery industry just took place. Although the number of exhibitors has significantly been reduced this year compared to last years, the quality and reputation of the remaining participants stays extremely high.

Beyond presenting the latest watch models, the newest technological developments and the trendiest sparking pieces of jewellery, the fair is a good moment to reflect on how the luxury industry is currently doing.

The luxury industry is a vast sector, including a diversity of items such as watches, jewellery, leather goods but also spirits. It appeals to many different types of people and demand can be qualified as ranging from aspirational consumption of affordable luxury good to the very high end exclusive and selective objects.

In the last years the industry suffered some setbacks, mainly due to a slowdown of demand in China. Many manufactures continued however during this period to invest and innovate in order to prepare for the next upswing.

2017 was positive year in general for equity markets, saw luxury companies posting outstanding performance. Performance that confirms that when the economy in general is strong, demand for luxury goods is even stronger as consumers are more willing to indulge themselves.

In our portfolios we like luxury companies which are world leaders in their segment, such as LVMH, Pernod Ricard or Diageo in Europe or Swatch and Richemont in Switzerland. These companies hold many different brands, appealing to many different types of customers. Although the luxury segment is quite cyclical and depends on the general mood, it strongly benefits from positive perspectives.

Currently the worldwide economic environment is positive, with growth registered in all regions. Demand for example is back in China (both mainland and Hong Kong), other emerging markets follow the same trend and tax cuts in the US are likely to improve consumer sentiment. Exports of these companies continue to be strong in the beginning of 2018 and even if comparative figures will become less positive throughout the year (due to a continued improvement throughout 2017), we are convinced that the environment for companies active in the luxury industry remains positive.

Loading...

Brillantes perspectives pour l’industrie du luxe

28 mars 18
-IAM, News

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Basel World, le salon international de l’horlogerie, de la bijouterie et des pierres précieuses vient de se terminer. Bien que le nombre d’exposants ait fortement diminué, comparé aux années précédentes, la qualité et la réputation des exposants restent extrêmement élevées.

Au-delà de la présentation des nouveaux modèles de montres, des derniers développements technologiques et des pièces de joaillerie les plus tendances du moment, cette manifestation est une bonne occasion pour faire un point de situation sur l’industrie du luxe.

Le secteur du luxe est un vaste car il inclut une grande diversité d’objets tels que les montres, la joaillerie, la maroquinerie mais également les spiritueux. Il séduit plusieurs types de personnes qui vont de l’acheteur émotionnel de produits de luxe à prix abordables à l’acheteur «very high end» d’objets uniques et d’exception.

Durant ces dernières années, le secteur a subit un certain repli, dû en particulier au ralentissement de la demande chinoise. Toutefois, durant cette période, de nombreux fabricants ont continué à investir et à innover afin de préparer la prochaine reprise de la demande.

L’année 2017, positive pour les marchés des actions, l’a également été pour les titres du luxe qui ont affiché des performances remarquables. Cette évolution favorable confirme que lorsque la croissance économique est solide, la demande pour les biens du luxe l’est encore plus, car les consommateurs souhaitent se faire plaisir.

Nous détenons dans nos portefeuilles des leaders mondiaux dans le domaine du luxe tels que LVMH, Pernod Ricard et Diageo en Europe ou encore Swatch et Richemont en Suisse. Ces sociétés détiennent beaucoup de marques reconnues attirant un nombre diversifié de consommateurs. Bien que le secteur soit assez cyclique et dépendant du sentiment général, il bénéficie actuellement de perspectives réjouissantes.

En effet, l’environnement économique est favorable avec une croissance synchronisée dans l’ensemble des régions du monde. La demande est de retour en Chine (tant à Hong Kong que dans la Chine continentale) et de nombreux pays émergents suivent la même tendance. De plus, la réduction annoncée des taxes pour les sociétés américaines est favorable pour le sentiment général des consommateurs. Enfin, les exportations pour les sociétés de luxe continuent d’être fortes en ce début d’année 2018 et même si, du fait de l’amélioration observée durant 2017, les chiffres comparatifs vont devenir plus difficiles au cours de l’année. Malgré cela, nous restons convaincus que l’environnement restera positif pour les sociétés actives dans le domaine de l’industrie du luxe.

 

 

Loading...