Expensive US equities

28th February 2018
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In this month newsletter, we are going to look at global equities and their valuation. One interesting information helping to determine whether stocks in a market are expensive or not is to look at the Cyclically Adjusted Price Earing Ratio (CAPE).

CAPE is a valuation measure, which divides the price by the average of ten years of earnings. By taking the average of earnings over a long period, cyclical movements are smoothed out.

The chart below shows the evolution of the CAPE since 1985 for three different equity markets: US, Europe and Switzerland.

Looking at the development since the financial crisis in 2008/2009, where the CAPE reached historically low levels, the rebound has had a different pace in the different regions. While the US rebounded very quickly and has been going strong since, the road to recovery was slower for Europe and Switzerland.

Although the CAPE is by far not the only valuation measure to take into consideration, it illustrates well how we currently evaluate the markets. Despite the recent correction of the beginning of 2018, US equities remain expensive,  while Swiss and even more so European companies still offer upward potential. We have had this view now for quite a while and have hence been, and still are, underweight US equities, while overweighting other regions, especially Europe, in our global equity allocation.

 

Source : IAM, Datastream

 

Loading...

Les actions américaines sont chères

28 février 18
-IAM, News

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Ce mois, nous allons aborder le thème des actions mondiales et leurs valorisations. Afin de comparer et de déterminer si un marché est cher ou non, nous allons nous baser sur le ratio CAPE (Cyclically Adjusted Price Earing Ratio).

Le ratio CAPE est une mesure de valorisation qui divise le prix actuel par la moyenne des bénéfices des dix dernières années. Cette méthode de calcul, basée sur une longue période, permet d’atténuer la cyclicité des résultats.

Le graphique ci-dessous montre l’évolution du CAPE depuis 1985 pour trois marchés différents: États-Unis, Europe et Suisse

En observant le développement du ratio depuis la crise financière de 2008/2009, crise au cours de laquelle le CAPE a atteint un point historiquement bas, le rebond s’est développé à un rythme différent en fonction des régions observées. Alors que le marché US rebondissait rapidement et restait élevé, le chemin de la récupération a été plus lent en Europe et en Suisse.

Bien que le ratio CAPE ne soit pas l’unique mesure de valorisation à prendre en considération, le graphique montre bien l’évaluation actuelle des marchés. Nous pouvons observer que, malgré la correction au début de l’année 2018, les sociétés américaines restent chères, alors que les titres suisses et encore plus les titres européens offrent un potentiel de rattrapage. Nous avons cette vision depuis déjà un certain temps. Par conséquent, dans notre allocation globale des actions, nous poursuivons la sous-pondération des actions américaines, alors que les autres régions sont surpondérées, particulièrement les actions européennes.

 

Source : IAM, Datastream

 

Loading...