Expensive US equities

28th February 2018
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In this month newsletter, we are going to look at global equities and their valuation. One interesting information helping to determine whether stocks in a market are expensive or not is to look at the Cyclically Adjusted Price Earing Ratio (CAPE).

CAPE is a valuation measure, which divides the price by the average of ten years of earnings. By taking the average of earnings over a long period, cyclical movements are smoothed out.

The chart below shows the evolution of the CAPE since 1985 for three different equity markets: US, Europe and Switzerland.

Looking at the development since the financial crisis in 2008/2009, where the CAPE reached historically low levels, the rebound has had a different pace in the different regions. While the US rebounded very quickly and has been going strong since, the road to recovery was slower for Europe and Switzerland.

Although the CAPE is by far not the only valuation measure to take into consideration, it illustrates well how we currently evaluate the markets. Despite the recent correction of the beginning of 2018, US equities remain expensive,  while Swiss and even more so European companies still offer upward potential. We have had this view now for quite a while and have hence been, and still are, underweight US equities, while overweighting other regions, especially Europe, in our global equity allocation.

 

Source : IAM, Datastream

 

Loading...

Teure US Aktien

28. February 2018
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In dieser Newsletter betrachten wir die globalen Aktienmärkte und ihre Bewertungen. Eine interessante Information, die hilfreich ist festzustellen, ob ein Aktienmarkt teuer ist oder nicht, ist der Cyclically Adjusted Price Earning Ratio (CAPE).

Der CAPE ist ein Bewertungsmassstab, welcher den Preis durch den Durchschnitt der Gewinne der 10 letzten Jahre teilt. Indem der Durchschnitt der Gewinne über einen so langen Zeitraum genommen wird, werden die zyklischen Bewegungen geglättet.

Die Graphik unten zeigt die Entwicklung des CAPE seit 1985 für drei verschiedene Aktienmärkte: USA, Europa und die Schweiz.

Betrachtet man die Entwicklung seit der Finanzkrise 2008/2009, wo der CAPE historisch tiefe Werte erreichte, hatte der Wiederaufschwung ein unterschiedliches Tempo in den verschiedenen Regionen. Während der Aufschwung in den USA sehr schnell war und sich seit dem stark weiterentwickelt hat, war der Weg zur Erholung in Europa und der Schweiz langsamer.

Zwar ist der CAPE nicht die einzige Bewertungsmessung, die in Betracht gezogen wird, aber er illustriert sehr gut, wie wir die Märkte im Moment sehen. Trotz der Korrektion Anfang 2018 sind US Aktien weiterhin teuer, während Schweizer Aktien und noch mehr europäische Aktien noch ein Potenzial nach oben haben. Diese Sicht haben wir schon einige Zeit und waren somit, und sind es weiterhin, US Aktien untergewichtet, während wir andere Regionen, hauptsächlich Europa, in unserer globalen Aktien Allokation übergewichtet haben.

 

Quelle : IAM, Datastream

Loading...