Tour of Emerging Markets

29th November 2017
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In this month’s newsletter we would like to take a closer look at the Emerging Markets.

After a slowdown in 2015 and 2016, economic growth is back in most regions of Emerging Markets. With China, which is experiencing a slight slowdown, Asia is stabilising at a high level, while growth is at its highest level since four years in South America.

Looking at consumption, based on retail sales, the situation is interesting. In Emerging Europe figures are stable, with Russia, after a difficult year in 2015, which had a strong year 2016 and is back in positive territory since mid-2017. The picture in Latin America is similar, with Brazil experiencing a strong rebound after some very difficult years. In Asia, the growth rate of consumption is slightly slowing down in China, while the whole region is flat at high rates of 7-8%.

Industrial production is another indicator providing interesting signals. Emerging Europe, pulled by a very dynamic Eurozone, is very strong this year. Emerging Asia remains stable, while Latin America has worked its way out of a recession.

Manufacturing PMIs show the following: currently, all regions are in expansive territory, with Emerging Europe flat at a very high level, and Latin America returning to positive territory during the year.

Looking at worldwide trade, exports are stabilising at a growth rate of about 10%. This follows a period of contraction in 2015 and recovery in 2016. Looking at countries individually, most, except Argentina, have positive year on year figures and the league table is currently topped by Chile, Vietnam, Brazil and Russia, with the latter two rebounding strongly after a very difficult period.

The various regions offer a mixed picture with regards to inflation. Emerging Europe shows signs of rising inflation, having passed the level of 5%. Latin America, excluding Venezuela and Argentina, sees its inflation dropping to a level currently below 4%. As for Emerging Asia, the inflation rate has been, for a few years now, very stable around 2%.

Although, and this is noteworthy to mention, all regions in Emerging Markets are faring rather well simultaneously, we would currently strongly favour the Emerging Asian region, which distinguishes itself by its stable dynamism.

Loading...

Tour des marchés émergents

29 novembre 17
-IAM, News

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Dans la newsletter de ce mois, nous allons porter une attention particulière aux marchés émergents.

Après le ralentissement observé en 2015 et 2016, la croissance économique est de retour dans la plupart des régions des marchés émergents. L’Asie se stabilise à un haut niveau de croissance malgré le léger ralentissement que subit la Chine, tandis que l’Amérique du sud affiche son plus haut niveau de croissance.

Lorsque l’on se penche sur la consommation, basée sur les ventes au détail, la situation est intéressante. En Europe émergente, les chiffres sont stables. En effet, après une année 2015 difficile, la Russie a fortement rebondi en 2016 et est de retour en territoire positif depuis mi-2017. Le contexte est similaire en Amérique latine avec le Brésil qui montre un fort rebond après quelques années compliquées. En Asie, la consommation chinoise est en légère baisse alors que la région, dans sa globalité, garde un haut niveau de croissance entre 7% et 8%.

La production industrielle, qui est un autre indicateur, révèle des signaux favorables. L’Europe émergente est très solide cette année grâce à une zone euro développée très dynamique. L’Asie émergente reste stable tandis que l’Amérique du sud a réussi à sortir de la récession.

Les indices PMI manufacturiers montrent que toutes les régions sont en expansion avec l’Europe émergente, restant stable à un haut niveau, alors que l’Amérique latine retourne en terrain positif.

En ce qui concerne le commerce international, les exportations se stabilisent à un taux de croissance de 10%. Cette progression fait suite à une contraction en 2015 et à un redressement en 2016. En considérant les pays individuellement, la plupart affichent des chiffres positifs, à l’exception de l’Argentine. Le classement est dominé par le Chili, le Vietnam, le Brésil et la Russie et montre que le rebond des deux derniers pays mentionnés est vigoureux.

Les différentes régions offrent un visage contrasté concernant l’inflation. Alors que l’Europe émergente montre des signes d’augmentation à plus de 5%, l’Amérique latine, à l’exclusion du Venezuela et de l’Argentine, voit son inflation baisser à un niveau inférieur à 4%. En Asie émergente, l’inflation reste stable aux alentours des 2% depuis plusieurs années déjà.

Bien que toutes les régions des marchés émergents se portent bien, nous privilégions la région de l’Asie émergente qui se distingue par la régularité de son dynamisme.

Loading...