Tour of Emerging Markets

29th November 2017
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In this month’s newsletter we would like to take a closer look at the Emerging Markets.

After a slowdown in 2015 and 2016, economic growth is back in most regions of Emerging Markets. With China, which is experiencing a slight slowdown, Asia is stabilising at a high level, while growth is at its highest level since four years in South America.

Looking at consumption, based on retail sales, the situation is interesting. In Emerging Europe figures are stable, with Russia, after a difficult year in 2015, which had a strong year 2016 and is back in positive territory since mid-2017. The picture in Latin America is similar, with Brazil experiencing a strong rebound after some very difficult years. In Asia, the growth rate of consumption is slightly slowing down in China, while the whole region is flat at high rates of 7-8%.

Industrial production is another indicator providing interesting signals. Emerging Europe, pulled by a very dynamic Eurozone, is very strong this year. Emerging Asia remains stable, while Latin America has worked its way out of a recession.

Manufacturing PMIs show the following: currently, all regions are in expansive territory, with Emerging Europe flat at a very high level, and Latin America returning to positive territory during the year.

Looking at worldwide trade, exports are stabilising at a growth rate of about 10%. This follows a period of contraction in 2015 and recovery in 2016. Looking at countries individually, most, except Argentina, have positive year on year figures and the league table is currently topped by Chile, Vietnam, Brazil and Russia, with the latter two rebounding strongly after a very difficult period.

The various regions offer a mixed picture with regards to inflation. Emerging Europe shows signs of rising inflation, having passed the level of 5%. Latin America, excluding Venezuela and Argentina, sees its inflation dropping to a level currently below 4%. As for Emerging Asia, the inflation rate has been, for a few years now, very stable around 2%.

Although, and this is noteworthy to mention, all regions in Emerging Markets are faring rather well simultaneously, we would currently strongly favour the Emerging Asian region, which distinguishes itself by its stable dynamism.

Loading...

Tour der Emerging Markets

29. November 2017
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

In der Newsletter von diesem Monat wollen wir die Emerging Markets etwas näher betrachten.

Nach der Abschwächung in 2015 und 2016 ist das wirtschaftliche Wachstum in den meisten Regionen der Emerging Markets wieder zurück. Während es sich in China etwas verlangsamt, bleibt Asien allgemein auf einem hohen Niveau stabil und in Südamerika ist das Wachstum auf dem höchsten Niveau seit vier Jahren.

Betrachtet man den Konsum, basierend auf dem Einzelhandelsumsatz, ist die Situation interessant. In Emerging Europa sind die Zahlen stabil. Dies mit Russland, welches nach einem sehr schweren 2015 ein starkes 2016 erlebte und seit Mitte 2017 wieder im positiven Bereich ist. In Lateinamerika ist die Lage ähnlich. Dort erlebt Brasilien eine starke Erholung nach ein paar schwierigen Jahren. In Asien weisst China eine leichte Verlangsamung des Konsums, während die gesamte Region auf einem hohen Niveau von 7-8% stabil bleibt.

Industrielle Produktion ist ein weiterer Indikator, welche interessante Signale bietet. Emerging Europa, dank einer sehr dynamischen Eurozone, ist dieses Jahr sehr stark. Emerging Asien bleibt stark, während Lateinamerika den Weg aus der Rezession gefunden hat.

Der Einkaufsmanager Index (PMI) des verarbeitenden Gewerbes zeigt Folgendes: Zurzeit sind alle Regionen im expansiven Bereich, mit Emerging Europa stabil auf einem hohen Niveau, während Lateinamerika im Lauf des Jahres positiv gedreht hat.

Beim weltweiten Handel stabilisiert die Wachstumsrate beim Export bei rund 10%. Dies folgt auf eine Periode des Abschwungs 2015 und der Erholung 2016. Betrachtet man einzelne Länder, weisen die meisten, ausser Argentinien, gegenüber dem Vorjahr positive Zahlen aus. Das Ranking wird von Chile, Vietnam, Brasilien und Russland angeführt, wobei die letzten beiden einen starken Aufschwung nach schweren Jahren erleben.

Die verschiedenen Regionen zeigen ein gemischtes Bild bezüglich Inflation. In Emerging Europa gibt es Anzeichen von steigender Inflation und die 5% sind schon überschritten. In Lateinamerika, Venezuela und Argentinien ausgeschlossen, fällt die Inflation unter 4%. In Emerging Asien ist die Inflation nun schon seit einigen Jahren stabil bei rund 2%.

Auch wenn, und dies ist nennenswert, sich alle Regionen der Emerging Markets gleichzeitig positiv entwickeln, ziehen wir im Moment die Emerging Asien vor, eine Region, die durch ihren stabilen Dynamismus beeindruckt.

Loading...