Unilever gives up its plan of a single domicile

16th October 2018
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Unilever, major consumer goods company, was formed in 1929 by the merger of the Dutch Margarine Unie and the British Lever Brothers. Since then, the company has kept it dual headquarters in Rotterdam and London. Following the hostile takeover bid by its smaller competitor Kraft, which Unilever was able to turn down in spring 2017, the company decided to simplify its company structure, end its dual listing and move to a single headquarter in the Netherlands.

UK institutional investors however were not amused by Unilever’s plan. As most investors, they have a home bias and invest part of their assets in UK equities. Unilever, as all companies active in the consumer goods sector, benefits from regular and predictable revenues and offers investors the participation in a solid, defensive quality company. It therefore is a company investors like to be part of their investment universe and hold in their portfolio.

The plans of Unilever, to move to a one single domicile, would see the company delisted from the London Stock Exchange, moved out of UK indices, like the FTSE100. This would force investors to sell their investments in it, as it is removed from their investment universe. This, maybe together with the fact that the producer of their bellowed Marmite would not be called British anymore, brought out the fighting spirit of many investors. Opposition grew to a point where it became clear that the company’s plans would not pass the necessary vote at an extraordinary shareholder meeting later this month. Unilever therefore announced last Friday that it cancelled its plans for a single domicile.

Loading...

Unilever renonce à son projet de domicile unique

16 octobre 18
-IAM, News

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Unilever, grande entreprise de biens de consommation, a été créée en 1929 par la fusion de l’entreprise hollandaise Margarine Unie et de l’anglaise Lever Brothers. Depuis lors, la société a conservé son double siège à Rotterdam et à Londres. Suite à l’offre publique d’achat hostile lancée par son concurrent plus petit, Kraft, que la société a réussi à refuser au printemps 2017, cette dernière a décidé de simplifier sa structure d’entreprise, en mettant fin à sa double cotation et en gardant un siège unique aux Pays-Bas.

Les investisseurs institutionnels britanniques n’ont toutefois pas apprécié le plan d’Unilever. Comme la plupart des investisseurs, ils ont une préférence pour leur marché domestique et investissent une partie de leurs actifs dans des actions britanniques. Unilever, comme toutes les entreprises actives dans le secteur des biens de consommation, bénéficie de revenus réguliers et prévisibles et offre aux investisseurs une participation dans une entreprise solide et de qualité défensive. C’est donc une entreprise que les investisseurs aiment bien voir dans leur univers d’investissement et détenir dans leur portefeuille.

Les projets d’Unilever, visant à ne garder qu’un seul domicile, verraient la société retirée de la cote de la London Stock Exchange et sortir des indices britanniques, comme le FTSE100. Cela obligerait les investisseurs à vendre leurs actions, celles-ci étant retirées de leur univers d’investissement. Ceci, peut-être combiné au fait que le Marmite, si cher aux anglo-saxons, ne pourrait plus être qualifié de britannique, a fait ressortir l’esprit combatif de nombreux investisseurs. L’opposition a pris une ampleur telle qu’il est devenu évident que les projets de la société ne seraient pas adoptés lors d’une assemblée extraordinaire des actionnaires qui était prévue plus tard ce mois-ci. Unilever a donc annoncé vendredi dernier l’annulation du projet de domicile unique.

Loading...