Risk – what does it imply?

26th September 2016
-IAM, Gestion de fonds, Asset management

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Looking at the broad definition of risk it is a probability or a threat that something negative such as damage, a loss or a liability occurs. In financial markets the dominating measure of risk is volatility i.e. the dispersion of returns of a security or an asset class. The higher the measure, the more the price of the asset fluctuates (positively and negatively) and hence the riskier the asset is considered. Although easy to calculate, it is worthwhile to reflect if this is the right way of defining risks.

We at IAM consider risk as the probability of losing the money invested. Looking at equities and investing with a long term investment horizon in mind, our central question is not whether the share price of a company is fluctuating a lot. Our central concerns are rather:

1.- Will the company still exist in the future?

The maximum loss an investor as shareholder of a company can incur is the full amount invested if the company goes bankrupt.

2.- Valuation of the company

When investing in a company, the price paid for holding a share in the company is very important. If you pay a price higher than the underlying value of the company, then there is a strong likelihood to lose money, as the price will overtime align itself with the true valuation of the company. On the contrary, if buying a company when its price is well below the valuation, then there is a potential for upside, with the price catching up with the valuation.

As active, long term and anticyclical investor, volatility can be very positive, when correctly apprehended. A solid company, with a strong management team and positive future prospects is not riskier just because its share price has dropped due to strong market movements. If we are convinced of a company then this fall in price is an excellent buying opportunity for us as anticyclical investors.

Take for example Burberry, a UK fashion company active in the luxury segment, which we hold in the IAM European Equity Fund. While the valuation and the long term outlook for the company have remained unchanged since the beginning of the year, market movements independent from the company itself (worries over growth in China and Brexit) have influenced the share price to move from GBPp 1400 to 1100 and back to 1400. Was the company riskier when it traded at 1100? No. However it was a great buying opportunity!

Prices lower than the projected valuation is what we look for when investing in our Equity Funds. Interested to see more? Why not take a closer look to the IAM European Equity Fund?

Loading...

Was ist Risiko?

26. September 2016
-Vermögensverwaltung, IAM, Gestion de fonds

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Was ist Risiko?

 Schaut man sich die breite Definition von Risiko an ist es die Wahrscheinlichkeit oder die Bedrohung, das etwas Negatives, wie ein Schaden, ein Verlust oder eine Verbindlichkeit vorfällt. In den Finanzmärkten ist der dominierende Massstab für Risiko die Volatilität, d. h. die Streuung der Renditen eines Titels oder einer Assetklasse. Desto grösser dieser Wert, desto mehr fluktuiert der Titel (positiv und negativ) und desto riskanter wird er betrachtet. Wenn auch einfach zu berechnen, lohnt es sich zu überlegen, ob dies der richtige Weg ist, Risiko zu definieren.

Bei IAM betrachten wir das Risiko wie die Wahrscheinlichkeit, das investierte Geld zu verlieren. Bei Aktien und mit einem langfristigen Anlagehorizont ist für uns die zentrale Frage nicht, ob der Aktienpreis eines Unternehmens viel fluktuiert oder nicht. Unsere wichtigsten Anliegen sind eher:

1.- Wird es das Unternehmen in Zukunft noch geben?

Der maximale Verlust, den ein Anleger als Aktionär eines Unternehmens erleiden kann, ist ein Totalschaden, falls das Unternehmen in Konkurs geht.

2.- Bewertung des Unternehmens

Wenn man in ein Unternehmen investiert, ist der Preis, den man bezahlt, um Aktien dieses Unternehmens zu halten, sehr wichtig. Zahlt man einen höheren Preis als den Wert des Unternehmens, dann besteht eine grosse Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass der Preis sich über kurz oder lang mit der richtigen Bewertung des Unternehmens anpassen wird. Kauft man wiederum ein Unternehmen, dessen Preis unter der Bewertung liegt, besteht ein Potential für einen Gewinn, wenn der Preis die Bewertung einholt.

Als aktiver, langfristiger und antizyklischer Investor kann Volatilität sehr positiv sein, wenn sie richtig angegangen wird. Ein solides Unternehmen, mit einem starken Managementteam und positiven Aussichten ist nicht riskanter, weil der Preis wegen einer starken Marktbewegung gefallen ist. Sind wir vom Unternehmen überzeugt, dann ist dieser Fall im Preis eine ausgezeichnete Kaufgelegenheit für uns als antizyklische Anleger.

Nehmen wir als Beispiel Burberry, ein Modehaus im Luxussegment aus Grossbritannien, welches wir im IAM European Equity Fund halten. Während die Bewertung und der langfristige Ausblick des Unternehmens seit dem Jahresbeginn sich nicht verändert hat, haben Marktbewegungen unabhängig vom Unternehmen (wegen Sorgen bezüglich des Wachstums in China und dem Brexit) den Aktienpreis von GBPp 1400 auf 1100 und zurück auf 1400 bewegt. War das Unternehmen riskanter als es auf 1100 handelte? Nein. Es bot sich jedoch eine tolle Kaufgelegenheit!

Preise unter der Bewertung ist wonach wir schauen, wenn wir in unsere Aktienfonds investieren. Möchten Sie mehr sehen? Schauen Sie sich doch mal den IAM European Equity Fund an.

Loading...