Measure of well-being

26th November 18
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

How to measure the well-being of a society? If, for a long time, the evolution of GDP has been used as a proxy, a more detailed analysis of the evolution of well-being was desired by the Federal Council in 2010. The 2018 edition (2nd after 2014) of the Report “Indicators measuring well-being, creation, distribution and preservation of well-being”, was published last week.

This report, if it does not provide a global conclusion, has the merit of bringing together more than 40 indicators, which according to the authors have an influence on the well-being of our society, as well as on its evolution. As interesting as they are varied, these indicators come from areas of society, such as the poverty rate, social protection expenditures or volunteer work; economy, such as research and development expenditures, labour-shortage rates or consumption and savings; as well as in the field of the environment, with indicators such as air quality, biodiversity or habitat and infrastructure surfaces.

All these aspects influence the well-being which, according to the report, is the fact that a person has sufficient means and favourable conditions allowing him or her to lead his or her life as free and autonomous as possible.

Loading...

Wohlfahrtsmessung

26. November 18
-News, IAM

Erika Mesmer, Client Relationship Manager

Wie lässt sich das Wohlbefinden einer Gesellschaft messen? Während die Entwicklung des BIP lange Zeit als Proxy verwendet wurde, wünschte der Bundesrat 2010 eine genauere Analyse der Entwicklung des Wohlbefindens. Die Ausgabe 2018 (2. nach 2014) des Berichts Indikatoren Wohlfahrtsmessung – Schaffung, Verteilung und Erhalt der Wohlfahrt“, wurde letzte Woche veröffentlicht.

Auch wenn dieser Bericht keine globale Schlussfolgerung liefert, hat er den Verdienst, mehr als 40 Indikatoren zusammenzubringen, die nach Ansicht der Autoren Einfluss auf das Wohlergehen unserer Gesellschaft sowie auf dessen Entwicklung haben. Diese Indikatoren stammen aus den Bereichen Gesellschaft, wie die Armutsquote, Ausgaben für Sozialleistungen oder Freiwilligenarbeit; der Wirtschaft, wie Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung, die Arbeitsmangelquote oder Konsum und Sparen; so aus dem Bereich Umwelt, mit Indikatoren wie Luftqualität, Biodiversität oder Siedlungsflächen.

All diese Aspekte beeinflussen die Wohlfahrt, welche laut der Studie bedeutet, dass eine Person über genügend Ressourcen verfügt und dass günstige Rahmenbedingungen bestehen, damit sie ihr Leben möglichst frei und selbständig gestalten kann.

Loading...