IAM Swiss equities – a good step ahead

29th January 19
-News, IAM

Alberto Alvarez, Senior Trading Officer

With deteriorating economic prospects, persistent trade tensions between China and the United States, and political risks in Europe, investor confidence has been particularly shaken over the past year. In this unfavourable context, the Swiss market (SPI) fell by 8.6% in 2018. The end of the year was particularly hectic and volatile, with even one of the worst months of December historically recorded for the Swiss market.

In this difficult environment, the IAM Swiss Equity portfolio performed well, posting a very good relative performance of more than 2% compared to its benchmark, the SPI TR. The performance attribution analysis allows us to identify the winning bets that contributed to this outcome.

In terms of sector allocation, and on the basis of average weights, the most marked portfolio bets are to be noted for “basic materials” and “consumer goods”, with respective overweights of +5.1% and + 5.5%; as well as for the “healthcare”, “industrials” and “technology” sectors, with respective underweights of -3.7%, -2% and -1.9%. Except for the “healthcare” sector, all of these strong convictions have been successful.

In terms of stock selection, companies in the “financial” and “industrial” sectors stand out. Indeed, the good stock picking within these two sectors has allowed a large over-performance. In addition, among the values that contributed the most to the excess return is Lindt & Sprüngli, one of the strong convictions of the manager, held continuously since 2008, and whose defensive nature offered a gain of 4% to investors in 2018.

In addition, in his strategic choices, the manager was able to read the industry trend reversal which gradually developed during the year. Thus, the defensive stocks Novartis and Roche were increased to the detriment of cyclical stocks: ABB, Credit Suisse and Kühne & Nagel. Furthermore, it should be noted that the defensive nature of the portfolio had already been reinforced in May by the reinvestment in Nestlé of part of the dividends received.

These strong convictions, coupled with the good positioning of the portfolio, enabled this very good excess performance to be generated, which is even greater than the maximum deviation estimated by the “Tracking Error” (TE) statistic, which posted at December 31 the annualised value of 1.65%.

Loading...

IAM actions suisse: une belle longueur d’avance

29janvier19
-IAM, News

Alberto Alvarez, Senior Trading Officer

Avec des perspectives économiques détériorées, des tensions commerciales persistantes entre la Chine et les Etats-Unis, et des risques politiques en Europe, la confiance des investisseurs a été particulièrement ébranlée au cours de l’année passée. Dans ce contexte défavorable le marché suisse (SPI) a reculé de 8.6% sur l’ensemble de l’année. La fin d’année a été particulièrement fébrile et volatile, avec même l’un des pires mois de décembre historiquement enregistré pour le marché helvétique.

Dans un environnement 2018 difficile, le portefeuille IAM actions suisses a brillamment tiré son épingle du jeu en affichant une très belle performance relative de plus de 2% par rapport à son indice de référence, le SPI TR. L’analyse d’attribution à l’excédent de performance nous permet d’identifier les paris gagnants qui ont contribué à ce résultat.

Au niveau de l’allocation sectorielle, et sur la base des poids moyens, les paris les plus marqués du portefeuille sont à relever pour les « matériaux de base » et les «biens de consommation », avec des sur-pondérations respectives de +5.1% et + 5.5%; ainsi que pour les secteurs de la « santé », des « industries » et de la « technologie », avec des sous-pondérations respectives affichées de -3.7%, -2% et -1.9%. Excepté le secteur de la « santé », l’ensemble de ces fortes convictions ont toutes été gagnantes.

Au niveau de la sélection des titres, les entreprises des secteurs « sociétés financières » et des « industries » se démarquent. En effet, le bon ‘stock picking’ au sein de ces deux secteurs ont permis de dégager une large sur-performance. De plus, parmi les valeurs qui ont contribué le plus à l’excédent de rendement relevons encore Lindt & Sprüngli, l’une des fortes convictions du gérant, détenue sans interruption depuis 2008, et dont le caractère défensif a offert un gain de 4% aux investisseurs en 2018.

En outre, lors de ses choix stratégiques, le gérant a bien su lire l’inversion de tendance sectorielle qui s’est progressivement dessinée en cours d’année. Ainsi, les valeurs défensives que sont Novartis et Roche ont été augmentées au détriment des titres cycliques : ABB, Credit Suisse et Kühne & Nagel. Par ailleurs, relevons également que le caractère défensif du portefeuille avait déjà été renforcé en mai par le réinvestissement dans Nestlé d’une partie des dividendes encaissés.

Ces fortes convictions couplées au bon positionnement du portefeuille ont ainsi permis de générer cette très belle performance excédentaire, qui est même supérieure à la déviation maximale estimée par la statistique du « Tracking Error » (TE), qui affichait au 31 décembre la valeur annualisée de 1.65%.

Loading...