IAM Swiss equities – a good step ahead

29th January 19
-News, IAM

Alberto Alvarez, Senior Trading Officer

With deteriorating economic prospects, persistent trade tensions between China and the United States, and political risks in Europe, investor confidence has been particularly shaken over the past year. In this unfavourable context, the Swiss market (SPI) fell by 8.6% in 2018. The end of the year was particularly hectic and volatile, with even one of the worst months of December historically recorded for the Swiss market.

In this difficult environment, the IAM Swiss Equity portfolio performed well, posting a very good relative performance of more than 2% compared to its benchmark, the SPI TR. The performance attribution analysis allows us to identify the winning bets that contributed to this outcome.

In terms of sector allocation, and on the basis of average weights, the most marked portfolio bets are to be noted for “basic materials” and “consumer goods”, with respective overweights of +5.1% and + 5.5%; as well as for the “healthcare”, “industrials” and “technology” sectors, with respective underweights of -3.7%, -2% and -1.9%. Except for the “healthcare” sector, all of these strong convictions have been successful.

In terms of stock selection, companies in the “financial” and “industrial” sectors stand out. Indeed, the good stock picking within these two sectors has allowed a large over-performance. In addition, among the values that contributed the most to the excess return is Lindt & Sprüngli, one of the strong convictions of the manager, held continuously since 2008, and whose defensive nature offered a gain of 4% to investors in 2018.

In addition, in his strategic choices, the manager was able to read the industry trend reversal which gradually developed during the year. Thus, the defensive stocks Novartis and Roche were increased to the detriment of cyclical stocks: ABB, Credit Suisse and Kühne & Nagel. Furthermore, it should be noted that the defensive nature of the portfolio had already been reinforced in May by the reinvestment in Nestlé of part of the dividends received.

These strong convictions, coupled with the good positioning of the portfolio, enabled this very good excess performance to be generated, which is even greater than the maximum deviation estimated by the “Tracking Error” (TE) statistic, which posted at December 31 the annualised value of 1.65%.

Loading...

IAM Aktien Schweiz – einen guten Schritt voraus

29. Januar 19
-News, IAM

Alberto Alvarez, Senior Trading Officer

Die sich verschlechternden wirtschaftlichen Aussichten, die anhaltenden Handelsspannungen zwischen China und den Vereinigten Staaten sowie die politischen Risiken in Europa haben am Vertrauen der Anleger im vergangenen Jahr gezerrt. In diesem ungünstigen Umfeld ging der Schweizer Markt (SPI) im Jahresverlauf um 8,6% zurück. Das Ende des Jahres war besonders hektisch und volatil, wobei einer der schlechtesten Dezembermonate für den Schweizer Markt verzeichnet wurde.

In einem schwierigen Umfeld 2018 entwickelte sich das Schweizer Aktien Portfolio von IAM gut und erzielte eine sehr gute relative Performance von mehr als 2% im Vergleich zu seiner Benchmark, dem SPI TR. Die Attributionsanalyse ermöglicht es uns, die gewinnenden Wetten zu identifizieren, die zu diesem Ergebnis beigetragen haben.

Bei der Sektorallokation und auf Basis der Durchschnittsgewichte sind die markantesten Portfolio-Wetten für “Grundstoffe” und “Konsumgüter” mit Übergewichtungen von +5,1% und + 5,5% beobachten sowie für die Sektoren “Gesundheit”, “Industrie” und “Technologie” mit Untergewichten von -3,7%, -2% und -1,9%. Mit Ausnahme des “Gesundheitssektors” waren alle diese starken Überzeugungen erfolgreich.

Bei der Aktienauswahl fallen Unternehmen Finanz- und Industriesektoren auf. Tatsächlich hat die gute Aktienauswahl in diesen beiden Sektoren eine starke Überperformance ermöglicht. Zu den Werten, die am meisten zur Überschussrendite beigetragen haben, gehört weiterhin “Lindt & Sprüngli”, eine der seit 2008 ununterbrochenen Überzeugungen des Managers, deren defensiver Charakter einen Gewinn von 4% an die Anleger im Jahr 2018 einbrachte.

Der Manager konnte die Trendwende der Branche im Laufe des Jahres gut lesen und diese schrittweise in seine strategischen Entscheidungen einfliessen lassen. Somit wurden die defensiven Aktien Novartis und Roche zum Nachteil der zyklischen Aktien ABB, Credit Suisse und Kühne & Nagel erhöht. Darüber hinaus ist festzuhalten, dass der defensive Charakter des Portfolios bereits im Mai durch die Wiederanlage eines Teils der erhaltenen Dividenden in Nestlé verstärkt wurde.

Diese starken Überzeugungen, gepaart mit der guten Positionierung des Portfolios, haben diese sehr gute Überperformance ermöglicht, die sogar noch größer als die maximale Abweichung ist, die von der “Tracking Error” (TE) – Statistik geschätzt wird, die am 31. Dezember den annualisierten Wert von 1,65% hatte.

Loading...